CurlON Free Clinic Series
Love of Curling Scholarship

Men’s Tankard Challenge Round

The Men’s Tankard is a competition for curlers (no restrictions) with teams comprised of four male players. Two teams advance to the provincial playdown.



Having troubles registering? See the step-by-step instructions for registration!

  • Dates, Deadlines and Locations

    LocationStart Date Entry Deadline
    Penetanguishene Curling Club01/15/201601/10/2016

  • Rules for this Competition

    This competition follows the:

    Specific Rules for 2015-2016: Adult Competitions Leading to a Fully Sanctioned National Championship

    Click to see:
    2015-2016 OCA Rules Supplement
    2015-2016 OCA Stick Specific Rules
    OCA Broom Moratorium January 2016
    OCA Mixed Doubles Rules

    • To be eligible to play in any competition, each team must have four (4) players who are members of the OCA member club they are representing.
    • All competitors must be citizens or residents of Canada.  Once per season, prior to their first game, all players and coaches must provide the OCA a signed waiver form (Exhibit # 6) which may require the signature of a parent or legal guardian if the participant is under the legal age (18) of majority in order to be eligible to compete.
    • The thirty-two (32) winners of the sixteen (16) zone playdowns, which shall be double knockout, shall meet in regional playdowns, which shall be double knockout. Each region shall declare two (2) winners and the eight (8) winners shall meet in the finals, which shall be a round-robin event (unless otherwise specified below).
    • The curling aid commonly referred to as a “delivery stick” shall not be permitted at any level of this competition.
    • By entering an Ontario Curling Association competition, each player thereby agrees:
      • a) to act in accordance with and be bound by the rules and policies of the Ontario Curling Association and, where applicable, the Canadian Curling Association; and
      • b) if the player wins the right to do so, to compete in successive levels of the competition except where prevented by unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances.

    Competition-specific rules are found in the PDF document linked above.

  • Documents

    Challenge Round Entry Form

  • Past Champions

    Year Club Skip
    2015 St. Georges Golf & Country Club Peter Corner
    2015 Guelph Curling Club Rob Rumfeldt
    2014 Glencoe & District Curling Club Jake Higgs
    2014 Donalda Curling Club John Epping
    2013 Harriston Curling Club Jake Higgs
    2013 Bradford & District Curling Club Joe Frans
    2012 Arnprior Curling Club Chris Gardner
    2012 Woodstock Curling Club Wayne Tuck
    2011 Rideau Curling Club Howard Rajala
    2011 Harriston Curling Club Jake Higgs
    2010 Oshawa Curling Club Chris Gardner
    2010 Sarnia Golf & Curling Club Rob Rumfeldt
    2009 Oshawa Curling Club Joe Frans
    2009 Sarnia Golf & Curling Club Peter Steski
    2008 Tam Heather Curling & Tennis Club Mike Harris
    2008 Kitchener-Waterloo Granite Club Daryl Shane
    2007 Omemee Curling Club John Epping
    2007 Sarnia Golf & Curling Club Heath McCormick
    2006 Omemee Curling Club John Epping
    2006 Coldwater & District Curling Club Glenn Howard
    2005 RCMP Curling Club Bryan Cochrane
    2005 Guelph Country Club Greg Balsdon
    2004 Avonlea Curling Club Ed Werenich
    2004 Ilderton Curling Club Kirk Ziola