TSL Web Banner

Hit, Draw & Tap Championship

2 (2)

2016-2017 Hit, Draw & Tap Championship

Hit, Draw and Tap is back for the 2016-2017 Season and it’s going to bigger and better!

Hit, Draw and tap or “HDT” as we like to call it, is a youth skills competition where kids age 6-13 compete as individuals. HDT will group kids into three different age categories, and perform three different shots,  a “Hit,” a “Draw” and a “Tap.”  The difficulty of the skills are modified based on the age of the child.

All CurlON clubs in the province are encouraged to host an HDT competition at their convenience…  last year some clubs ran it as a recruitment event during their OPEN HOUSE week, others built it into their Youth Curling Programs – practicing the skills as part of their regular programming, whatever works for your club is fine with us, as long as all club competitions are complete and results are received by January 1, 2017.

Youtube screenshot

Promotional Video Link:  https://youtu.be/dDRkFH-PTWM

Participants will compete within their local club – and repeat each skill five times for a total score that will be compared against others in the province on a “Provincial Leaderboard” – the Top 10 curlers in each age group + ties will qualify for the Hit Draw and Tap Provincial Championship to be held in Cobourg on February 4, 2017 as part of the Men’s Tankard/Women’s Scotties Provincial Championships.

Along the way participants will receive certificates, ribbons, medals, trophies, clothing and a chance to get their name on the biggest trophy you have ever seen!

Complete information about the competition can be found here: HDT 2016-2017 Event Information

Provincial Leaderboard

2016 Results Are in!!!

We had over 700 kids participate in the 2016 Hit Draw and Tap Club Championships!

The results are in!  Check out the Leaderboard of each age division:

 

6-8

9-10

11-13

Participants who are shaded in “grey” (Top 10 plus ties), have received their invitations to the Hit Draw and Tap Provincials in Cobourg.  Thanks to everyone for playing!

 

Thank you RBC Learn to Play Project

The Ontario Curling Association’s Hit Draw and Tap Program is a proud 2016 recipient of an RBC Learn to Play grant! The RBC Learn to Play Project provides grants to local organizations and community groups that are building the physical literacy of Canada’s kids and youth. RBC Learn to Play Project grants are funded by RBC and  the Public Health Agency of Canada and delivered by ParticipACTION with support from Canadian Sport for Life.

Learn more at www.RBC.com/learntoplay.

 

RBD Learn to Play Logo

public health agency of canada

Participaction

Sport for Life

2016-2017 Registered Clubs

Club NameContactEmailDate of HDT
Oakville Curling ClubHelen Stephensonhelen.s@oakvillecurlingclub.comNov. 13/16
Brampton Curling ClubDon Brucetoed@sympatico.caDec. 11/16
Hamilton Victoria ClubCarmelinda Del Contecarmelinda.delconte@mohawkcollege.ca
Lindsay Curling ClubJohn Baldrylindsaycurlingclub@bellnet.ca
West Northumberland Curling ClubSue Morrowsumorrow@cogeco.ca
Meaford Curling ClubCarlene Weatherallweatherallcarlene@bmts.com
Bancroft Curling ClubBonnie Gwilliamsbgwill08@live.comOct. 30/16
Cataraqui Golf & Country ClubSabena Islamsabenaislam@gmail.comNov. 20/16
Acton Curling ClubLee Jewelljewells5@bell.net
Whitby Curling ClubAna Whelanajwhelan@rogers.com
Kingsville Curling ClubStephanie Heatonstephheaton028@gmail.comDec. 10/16
High Park ClubJodi McCutcheonjodimccutcheon@sympatico.ca
York Curling ClubLisa Vincentlvincent@venturarecruiters.com
Manotick Curling ClubMichel Daiglelmdaigle74@gmail.com
Guelph Curling ClubNathan Scottgccnscott@gmail.comNov. 27/16
Quinte Curling ClubKendra Lafleurklafleur3@cogeco.caDec. 18/16
Welland Curling ClubMarietta Cliftmclift@becon.orgDec. 4/16
Fergus Curling ClubNeil Millerneil.miller@linamar.comDec. 11/16
Land O'Lakes Curling ClubLaura Reavielaurareavie78@gmail.com
Barrie Curling ClubStephanie Hardybarriekidscurl@gmail.comNov. 27/16 and
Dec. 4/16
Paris Curling ClubBryan Maudejuniors@pariscurlingclub.comDec. 11/16
VanKleek Hill Curling ClubLarry Bracklbrack@yourlink.caDec. 2016
RCMP Curling ClubDiana MacKaykdmac007@rogers.com
Oshawa Curling ClubCourtney Gordonclgordon12@gmail.comDec. 4/16
London Curling ClubPete Daleydaley.pete@gmail.comDec. 18/16
Bayview Golf & Country ClubJulie Hastingsmonk@rogers.com
Aylmer Curling ClubKerry Kerrkikerr@amtelecom.net
Almonte Curling ClubRod Stoddartrodstoddart.rs@gmail.comDec. 16/16
Richmond Curling ClubMichelle Belliveaumichelle.roddy01@yahoo.ca
Parry Sound Curling ClubDonna Genereuxdgenereux7@yahoo.com
Ennismore Curling ClubTara Welbourntara.welbourn@hotmail.comDec. 6/16
Shelburne Curling ClubGordon Stephengdstephen@outlook.com
Royal Kingston Curling ClubKimberly Barkerbarkers44@cogeco.caFeb. 4/17
Loonie Sports ClubAlex McKinneylonnie@kos.netDec. 2016
Curling Club of CollingwoodJean McAllistere.jean.mcallister@bell.net
Chatham Granite ClubDon Taylord.taylor1@hotmail.caDec. 11/16
Brant Curling ClubSean Bryantsean.bryant@century21.ca
Ilderton Curling ClubJeanette Molejbmole@hotmail.com
RCN (Navy) Curling ClubTom Kellynavyjunior@hotmail.comDec. 18/16
Cornwall Curling CentreNeil MacLeanneilynnmac@gmail.comDec. 18/16
Grimsby Curling ClubTara McDonaldtcmcd1@gmail.comDec. 17/16
Milton Curling ClubDoreen Kilfoildoreenfilfoil@gmail.comDec. 4 & 11/16
Penetanguishene Curling ClubSue Westwoodsuewestwood6@gmail.comDec. 19/16
Richmond Hill Curling ClubRyan Werenichryanwerenich@hotmail.comDec. 11 & 18/16
King Curling ClubJulie Oakleyjulie.oakley@rogers.com
Chinguacousy Curling ClubLaura McIntyrelauramcintyre62@gmail.comDec. 18/16
Kitchener-Waterloo Granite ClubDavid MacTavishdavidsmactavish@gmail.comDec. 18/16

Historical Results

2015-2016 Provincial Standings:    Final Standings – Provincials.

Promotional Material – posters can be downloaded here.  Posters are included in your hosting kit.

HDT 2016 Poster

Have questions about the competition – contact Jennifer Ferris at jennifer@ontcurl.com or 289-527-0352